2018 ASTA Awards

Click Here for the 2018 Nomination Packet 

The Alabama Science Teachers Association presents $1,000 awards to outstanding

Alabama science teachers at its annual Conference in these categories:


  • Outstanding Elementary Science Teacher (grades K-5),
  • Outstanding Middle School Science Teacher (grades 6-8)
  • Outstanding High School Science Teacher (grades 9-12)

The Fannie Mae Nelson Teacher of Promise is awarded to an outstanding K-12 science teacher who has less than three years of teaching experience and carries a cash award of $500.


All members of ASTA are encouraged to submit nominations for these awards. Nominees must be full-time classroom teachers and current members of ASTA. Members of ASTA’s Executive Board, District Directors, or previous recipients of the Outstanding Elementary, Middle, or High School Awards are not eligible for consideration. Previous recipients of the Teacher of Promise Award may be nominated for one of the other awards.


If you wish to make a nomination for this program, please submit the materials listed below using the link above.


Nomination packets are accepted from June 1, 2018 through September2, 2018. 


Faxed or e-mailed pages are not accepted. The following must be uploaded in pdf format to the form linked in the email received after the nomination process is complete.

  • Complete nomination form (see link at top of page)
  • Resume (2 pages, 12 point size font, Times Roman Numeral)
  • One personal statement from the nominee. In addition to a personal testament, the letter must address the following questions:

•·         What characteristics do you possess that indicate you are a highly qualified science teacher?

•·         How do you address inquiry and problem solving in your science teaching?


  • Minimum of 2 additional letters of support. These may be from colleagues, administrators, parents, students or others who are familiar with the nominee’s performance and classroom achievements.
  • An employment verification letter from the nominee’s principal
  • Nominees must be a current member of ASTA. Membership status may be verified by contacting the ASTA Membership Chair, Jennifer McCrary, at

General questions concerning nominations may be directed to teh Award Chair Shelly Huver at or ASTA President Teresa Gregory  at

Alabama Science Teachers Association

PMB 265

732 Montgomery Highway

Birmingham, AL 35216

© Alabama Science Teachers Association

Click ASTA News and subscribe for regular email updates, and news.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software